Skip To Main Content

2019 Waddell Scholarship Recipients



Gaylord and Barbara Waddell



The Southern Ohio Educational Service Center Scholarship Committee


2019 Waddell Scholarship Recipients


Picture: Top Row, (LFT to RT): Alexandria Hughes, East Clinton Local Schools;
Nicholas Lansing, Blanchester Local Schools; Clayton Boyd, Blanchester Local
Schools; Jalen Richardson, Clinton-Massie Local Schools; Karlee Rice, Clinton-Massie
Local Schools; Bottom Row, (LFT to RT): Austin Rolfe, East Clinton Local Schools;
Caleb Morton, East Clinton Local Schools; Brayden Fields, Blanchester Local Schools;
Jason Martin, Clinton-Massie Local Schools.

(Not pictured: Kaitlin Durbin and Alexandria Turner, East Clinton Local Schools)

The Gaylord and Barbara Waddell Scholarship Fund was established in 1980 by the late Barbara Waddell of Sabina.  Mrs. Waddell bequeathed $600,000 to the Clinton County Board of Education as an endowment for post high school scholarships for members of the graduating classes of Blanchester, Clinton Massie and East Clinton High Schools.  Including the 11 recipients pictured, five hundred and two graduates have been awarded one thousand dollar, four-year renewable scholarships.  Thirty-six scholarship recipients were enrolled in college during the 2018-2019 academic year.  To date, $1,663,811 have been paid to post high school institutions from endowment earnings.  Scholarship criteria and the ratio of scholarships available to each high school were established in Mrs. Waddell’s will.  The Southern Ohio Educational Service Center Scholarship Committee extends sincere congratulations and best wishes to the 2019 recipients.