Skip to Main Content

Awards & Recognitions

The Clinton County Business Advisory Council (BAC) awarded its Integrity
Scholarship to eight area graduating seniors who demonstrate academic promise, ethics, and ambition.
Established in 1998 as a way to make the cost of post-secondary education more affordable, the BAC
has since awarded 134 graduates scholarships totaling over $64,000.

The BAC Scholarship Fund is administered by the Clinton County Foundation and the Southern Ohio Educational Service Center.

Please click the title for more information.
This award is a unique recognition since it is granted to a limited number of individuals from throughout the five-counties that Region 14/Hopewell serves and is provided by both parents and educators.

Please click the title for more information.
The Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Award was established in 1989 by Ohio's County Superintendents to recognize student achievement and promote academic accomplishment.  Only one senior from each of Ohio's eighty-eight counties is chosen to receive this honor each year.  The recipients are the top scholars in their class.

The award bears the name of Dr. Franklin B. Walter, who served as State Superintendent from 1977-1991.  During his tenure, Dr. Walter worked with three governors, significantly improved public education in the state, and brought Ohio's schools to the fore-front of the nation's attention.  He received numerous honors and has earned the respect and admiration of educators nationwide.  His integrity, leadership, optimism and commitment serves as an example for all.  Dr. Walter passed away on September 15, 2010 at the age of 80.  He left behind a storied legacy that includes this award.

Please click the title for more information.
The Gaylord and Barbara Waddell Scholarship Fund was established in 1980 by the late Barbara Waddell of Sabina.  Mrs. Waddell bequeathed $600,000 to the Clinton County Board of Education as an endowment for post-high school scholarships for members of the graduating classes of Blanchester, Clinton Massie, and East Clinton High Schools.  Including the 11 recipients pictured, five hundred and two graduates have been awarded one thousand dollar, four-year renewable scholarships.  Thirty-six scholarship recipients were enrolled in college during the 2018-2019 academic year.  To date, $1,663,811 has been paid to post-high school institutions from endowment earnings.  Scholarship criteria and the ratio of scholarships available to each high school were established in Mrs. Waddell’s will.

Please click the title for more information.